Minutes Dean's Administrative Council College of Education University of South Alabama UCOM 3619

10:00 AM - Noon, August 30, 2010

Members Present: Dr. Richard L. Hayes, Dean; Dr. Thomas L. Chilton, Associate Dean; Dr. Phillip Feldman, Associate Dean; Dr. Harold Dodge, Interim Chair, Leadership and Teacher Education; Dr. Frederick Scaffidi, Chair, Health, Physical Education, and Leisure Studies; Dr. Charles Guest, Chair, Professional Studies; Dr. Abigail Baxter, Director, Graduate Studies and Research; Dr. Peggy Delmas, Director, Student Advising; Dr. James Van Haneghan, Director, Assessment and Evaluation; Dr. Andrea Kent, Director, Field Services; and Tres Stefurak, COE Faculty Council Representative.

Dean Hayes called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.

1.

- **6. USA Whistle Blower Policy** This policy, updated in July 2010, reinforces and codifies USA policies dealing with allegations of research misconduct.
- 7. Computer Access Requirement Beginning with the fall semester 2010, the College of Education now requires all students who are candidates for a degree in designated programs to own a personal, portable laptop computer. The Dean, in collaboration with several faculty members, has defined the exact capacity and platforms of the equipment to be recommended for our discipline and those requirements will now be posted on the COE website. Enforcement of the policy will be up to individual faculty members who are urged to consider how they can make effective use of laptops in their classrooms before enforcing the policy. No computer "loaners" are available to students.